1975 Bill 40

(Second Session)

First Session, 18th Legislature, 24 Elizabeth II

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA

BILL 40

THE ALBERTA ENVIRONMENTAL RESEARCH TRUST AMENDMENT ACT, 1975

| Mr. Bradley | |
|----------------|---|
| | _ |
| First Reading | |
| Second Reading | |
| Third Reading | |

BILL 40

1975

(Second Session)

THE ALBERTA ENVIRONMENTAL RESEARCH TRUST AMENDMENT ACT, 1975

(Assented to

, 1975)

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

- 1. The Alberta Environmental Research Trust Act is hereby amended.
- 2. Section 2 is amended by striking out the words "section 6" and by substituting the words "section 5".
 - 3. Section 5 is amended
 - (a) by striking out subsection (1) and by substituting the following:
 - 5. (1) There shall be a board of trustees for the Trust consisting of the Deputy Minister and seven other persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.
 - (b) by striking out subsections (2) and (3) and by substituting the following:
 - (2) The board of trustees shall elect a chairman from among its members by the affirmative vote of a majority of the trustees then holding office.
 - (2.1) The board may appoint such advisors as it considers necessary.
 - (2.2) The Minister of the Environment may provide such employees as may be necessary to carry out secretarial, clerical and accounting duties and other work required by the board.
 - (3) A majority of the trustees holding office constitutes a quorum.
- 4. This Act comes into force on the day upon which it is assented to.

Explanatory Notes

- 1. This Bill will amend chapter 31 of the Statutes of Alberta, 1971.
 - 2. Corrects a cross-reference. Section 2 presently reads:
 - 2. There is hereby established a corporation with the name of the Alberta Environmental Research Trust consisting of the trustees appointed by or pursuant to section 6.

3. Section 5 presently reads:

- 5.~(1) There shall be a board of trustees for the Trust consisting of the Deputy Minister and seven other persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and representative of the general public.
- (1.1) The term of office of a trustee appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council shall be three years from the date of his appointment unless otherwise specified by the order making the appointment.
- (2) The Deputy Minister shall be the chairman of the board of trustees and the Director of the Research Division of the Department of the Environment shall be its secretary.
 - (3) A majority of the trustees constitute a quorum.
- (4) The trustees shall meet at least once a year on a date to be fixed by the chairman.